Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

Should I Fly Allegiant? An Honest Airline Review

[shareaholic app=”share_buttons” id=”20872686″]

Last month, Mom and I flew a direct flight from Nashville to Palm Springs, a new route that sprung up on Allegiant Airlines in the last year. Around the time we booked, I noticed a lot of chatter online with people seeing similar deals and trying to figure out: should I fly Allegiant Air? I’m breaking down our honest experience with Allegiant.

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

First off, let’s just say that the in-flight experience of most domestic airlines these days is the same. In the past six months, I’ve flown United, Delta, Southwest and Allegiant on anywhere from one- to four-hour U.S. flights, and as I fly the cheapest fare in economy possible, there’s not really a discernible difference between any of them. If that’s also your reality, I recommend you book the flight that a) offers you the best price and b) the best flight path (ideally, direct, but if not a short layover in an airport that isn’t LAX or JFK).

GET MY POSTS DELIVERED DIRECTLY TO YOUR INBOX

 

This was my second time flying Allegiant; the first was a round-trip to Hilton Head/Savannah, a seasonal route that is not currently offered. On both trips—or four flight legs—I had the same perfectly seamless experience. Most Allegiant routes like this are only offered once or twice a week and to secondary airports, which is why the fees are so cheap, so you have to be flexible. For Palm Springs, we could only fly direct on Saturday and Wednesday, so we planned our trip accordingly.

Should I Fly Allegiant Air? An Airline Review

What does an Allegiant Air flight cost?

The reason people fly Allegiant Air is because it’s cheap. For the purpose of this post, I did a quick flight search from Nashville to Fargo—not a large airport—for a couple weeks out, and rates start at $38 each way.

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

Sounds dreamy, right? Only, when you go to the next screen, you’ll notice that everything from seat selection to a carry on is an upcharge:

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

Still, even if you select the highest fare in this case, it works out to just $170 more and a total of $291 a person round-trip, which is about as affordable a flight as you’re going to find to Fargo. What you need to know, though, is the initial price you see in the booking engine or on Google Flights is for the bare-bone experience so you’re likely going to want to upgrade your fare.

What class of fare should I book on Allegiant?

I highly recommend doing the Allegiant bundle where everything is included. In all, we paid $377 a person for a round-trip ticket from Nashville to Palm Springs direct. It wasn’t that more expensive for us to go this route than the basic fare, and we were able to pre-select our seats and get an exit row, which was dreamy. And we had an empty seat between us.

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

And even though we didn’t check bags, it was nice knowing there would be no fee surprises (like for our carry-on bags) since we had paid for all of that upfront.

One of my few rubs with Allegiant is the booking process. Because it’s a low-cost carrier, they try to upsell you on everything: hotels, rental cars, vacation packages. You have to bypass all these screens before you get to the actual payment portal.

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

What to expect from the Allegiant planes

Allegiant Air’s fleet of planes are all older Airbus A319s and A320s, very basic and no-frills. That means a three-seat configuration on each side of the aisle and only one class of service, economy. The airline recently announced the purchase of 737-7 and 737-8-200 aircraft, which will be implemented over the next few years. We booked exit row seats in our bundle, which gave us plenty of legroom.

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

Allegiant’s in-flight service

Most of the domestic flights I’ve been on lately have not had in-flight service other than complimentary water, coffee/tea and sodas, and Allegiant’s in-flight service was similar. They do sell beer, wine and spirits, in addition to meals and snack packs, for the same prices as the other airlines, but I didn’t purchase anything on my flights.

I also found the flight attendants very friendly and helpful. Allegiant may be a “budget airline,” but the customer service element was far superior than what I’ve found flying low-cost carriers in Europe like, say, Ryanair or easyJet.

Allegiant’s baggage policy

Here’s where airlines like Allegiant and Frontier really get you: with the added fees. As I already noted, if you book the bundle, you won’t have to worry about this. But if you book the cheapest seat possible, you’ll have to pay for not only your checked baggage, but also your carry-on. Your personal item (purse, laptop bag, etc.) is free.

Baggage policy for Allegiant Air

If you’re looking for a no-baggage-fee airline, Southwest is pretty much your only option. We fly Southwest a lot—mostly for free, thanks to having their reward credit card—and though we rarely check bags, that policy comes in handy when we’re heading to cold-weather destinations like Colorado with our ski gear.

The downsides of Allegiant Airlines

There are no perks on Allegiant like WiFi or in-flight entertainment, so you’ll need to bring your own. I often get a lot of work done on flights, but honestly not having WiFi is usually a blessing for me because then I have no excuse to work and can unplug and actually read for the duration of the flight.

So … should I fly Allegiant?

If you’re like me and value price over frills, then you should fly Allegiant. If it’s going to annoy you that everything is an up-charge and there are no classes in the airplane, this probably is not the airline for you.

Personally, I would fly Allegiant again. It was a perfectly comfortable, seamless experience, and I think if you buy a ticket with everything included—seat selection, carryon, checked bag if you’re bringing one—then there won’t be any surprises and you won’t be disappointed.

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

Have you flown Allegiant Air before? Would you agree with my assessment of what it’s like to fly Allegiant?


 

PIN IT! SAVE THIS POST FOR LATER

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?
Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?
COMMENTS
  • April 11, 2022
    Karolyn

    I agree with your review. I like Allegiant for direct flights to fun destinations!

    • May 16, 2022

      It would be fun to play destination roulette with all the direct routes on Allegiant and just go on an adventure to wherever is cheapest!

    • May 21, 2022
      Jerry Blaisdell

      If you need to speak to someone at Allegiant forget it. I waited on the phone line for 3 hours after trying to address my problem on line completely failed. They had absolutely no one in their call center on a Friday. Unimaginable.

      • May 29, 2022
        Carolyn T

        I had a ok flight going to Las Vegas. But a nightmare coming back. At the airport in Las Vegas they checked me in knowing the flight was cancel. I found out the flight home was canceled by checking the monitor. Had to go back down to the ticket counter got down there and the line was unbelievable all wait to get to this one desk. Here we learn not only was one flight cancel but 2. I waited in line for over a hour before I reach the counter. Now when my turn can to talk to the agent I was told that I could not get out of Las Vegas until that Sinday morning now this happened on a Friday morning. They told Mr couldn’t get me out until Suday morning or they could put me on a flight to Austin Texas and from there I had to found my own my home from there. Now if thay could fly us to Austin they could have flew onto McAllen Texas. Now I had to purchase another ticket with another airline to get home. Now I paid twice for the same return trip home now I’m out of 221.00 more to get home. Now I could. Ot het any kind of refund on my ticket for there flight home in which I had paid for when booking my trip in the first place. It took me 2 days to get back home in which I should have been home at 4:16pm that Friday evening instead I got home at 11: 30 am the next day. I will not flight with them again. I see why there tickets are so cheap. They fly you to your destination. UT you may not get back home in which you have paid for without having to take the chance of having to purchase another airline to get back ho.e. worst experience I have had since I’ve been flying. That will never happen to me again not with this airline. It was a awful flying experience. And you can never get anybody on the phone to talk too. I don’t care what time you call. The line is always busy 24/7.

        • June 1, 2022
          Victor Mehal

          What is allegiance doing to correct or are they saying too bad..

        • June 2, 2022

          Have you tried contacting them through social media? I’ve found Twitter is usually the best way to get through to many of the airlines, though personally have not had to get Allegiant to correct anything (yet). Good luck! I feel your frustration.

          • July 25, 2022
            Marge gearing

            Have used alligiant many times service good but impossible to speak to a person i go to sirport snd book flight no issues thete I prefere the smaller airports

        • June 26, 2022
          Teresa Hensley

          Sounds like .y recurring night.are with Spirit. I fly Allegiant out of Austin because I really like the small South Terminal.

      • June 24, 2022
        Trudy Monaco

        Exactly. Even if you’ve paid for Trip Flex you won’t be able to reach Alligiant to make the change. I tried for days and finically gave up and bought another ticket. I have never gotten my voucher so I paid twice for one flight.

      • June 26, 2022
        Sherri

        Agree 💯%….best time is late @night

      • July 26, 2022
        Leslie Prince

        I totally agree! I abrogated got up twice in the middle of the night and wanted to ask questions, but I would get a busy signal and after 4 rings, my call would hang up. I emailed as well and never got a return email. I just flew out with Allegiant , July 7th-11th. I would recommend Allegiant to anyone because of the
        prices, and I could deal with being cramped for 2 hours to my destination.

  • April 11, 2022
    Emily

    I agree, my family uses them and they haven’t had issues. You just have to know what you are getting and take that into consideration. They fly out of smaller cities, which is nice if you live in one of those. Their flights never seem to work for me, but I would use them if they did.

    • April 19, 2022

      Exactly! The lack of availability is definitely an issue if you don’t have flexibility but also why they can offer flights so cheap.

  • April 15, 2022
    AH

    I learned recently that if you do live in a city with an Allegiant airport and it’s not too much of a hassle to stop in at the airport to purchase your ticket you can save a lot of money!

    • April 19, 2022

      Someone else just told me that, too, and it absolutely blew my mind!

      • June 7, 2022
        Erika

        I agree. I always purchase my tickets at the airport with allegiant, saves us alot of money.

  • April 17, 2022
    Pamela

    I have been trying to get a flight for me and my grandson for August to Toledo Ohio and there is no flight for August,does anyone know why

    • April 19, 2022

      I’d use Google Flights to see all your options across airlines. That’s always where I start any flight search.

  • April 19, 2022
    Diana Spangler

    I had 7 delays on April th. Was told I would receive a voucher for hot3l. Still waiting for it and the customer service number has been busy regardless what time I call. Horrible experience. Promised voucher for food (airpoet only) and the next morning no one at the fate knew anything about it!!! So I am out $350.00 for hotel and transportation.

    • April 19, 2022

      Diana, I hate to hear this! It’s definitely happened to be before on various airlines. I’d say keep fighting, check the airline’s contract of carriage and reach out via Twitter (how I often resolve flight issues) if that doesn’t work.

      https://www.allegiantair.com/contract-carriage

    • May 11, 2022
      April

      I was stranded with my minor grandkids in Tulsa, OK because I, as well as the ticket counter rep, could not check us in and issue boarding passes! I was told that the manager would come refund my tickets but no one ever returned to the counter. I’m still fighting for my money. Additionally, because they only fly once or twice a week you cannot “catch the next flight out” without waiting a few days costing hundreds of dollars more in hotels and food. Ultimately, I had to purchase with another carrier so I could get home the next day because I was out of my meds! This was the worse experience ever. You get what you pay for and if you like throwing away a lot of money this is the flight for you!!

      • May 16, 2022

        I’m sorry you had that experience, April! That sounds like every time I’ve flown Ryanair in Europe. I haven’t had that experience on Allegiant so far, but definitely can sympathize with sub-par flying experiences as I’ve had many.

      • June 12, 2022
        Mark

        I have flown Allegiant perhaps 40-50 trips with only two flight issues and those weren’t recent.

        It’s an airline of choice for me out of Asheville NC for two reasons: First, I am a U.S. military veteran and they honor vets by allowing free baggage (both checked and carry-on) and will upgrade your seat at the gate when possible. And second, because I have their branded credit card, I get priority boarding, a free drink, and earn points toward free travel from all by card purchases.

        I know some have had troubled experiences and I think all air travel is susceptible to delays, cancellations and other issues. The big difference with Allegiant is that if it happens, it’s not just an inconvenience…it’s devastating. Why? Because unlike the major carriers (American, Delta, United, or even Southwest), most of Allegiant route pairings are only offered 2-3 days a week, rather than multiple flights per day…so rebooking on a later flight same day is usually impossible.

        All that said, if it is not a business trip or otherwise dependent on ensuring timeliness, I have found the low-cost reward to be greater than the risk of potential issues.

        • June 17, 2022

          Good analysis, Mark. And thank you for your service!

  • April 19, 2022
    Quentin Bruce Watnem

    We had a seamless flight from DSM to SRQ no problem we definitely will use them again very reasonable rates and no problems, very friendly staff

  • April 21, 2022
    Cheryl Lee

    I like Allegiant and have been flying them most of the time since I moved to Florida almost 5 years ago. I am a veteran and especially like their Military Honors program: Up to 2 free checked bags (100# max each!!), free carryon, early boarding, one free pet and other great perks.

    • May 16, 2022

      Thank you for your service, Cheryl! My husband is also a veteran and I didn’t know they offered that perk, but we’ll definitely take advantage of it in the past. Appreciate you sharing!

    • June 29, 2022
      Fran Lister

      I was on a flight from Minneapolis to Asheville NC direct flight, we had plans for 3 days in Cherokee NC. However, my bag was lost. I had paid for the carry on option. But due to the flight being full they encouraged us to check the bag, big mistake!!! I had everything in that bag. My medicine, makeup and my best shoes!!! So we ended up just driving home to SC. Well my bag was located Tues. however it looks like I won’t get my bag till Friday if I’m lucky!!! Never again!!! This is absolutely ridiculous!!! They ruined my vacation!!! Who needs that kind of stress!!!

      • June 29, 2022

        I’m sorry, Fran! Make sure you get compensated fairly. Delta did that a couple years ago and we finally got money out of them for the hassle.

        Per the Department of Transportation:

        What are airlines’ responsibilities when your bag is delayed?

        Airlines are required to compensate passengers for reasonable, verifiable, and actual incidental expenses that they may incur while their bags are delayed – subject to the maximum liability limits.

        Airlines are not allowed to set an arbitrary daily amount for interim expenses. For example, an airline cannot have a policy that they will reimburse a passenger up to only $50 for each day that a passenger’s bag is delayed.

  • April 22, 2022

    I always fly Allegiant from Mesa to Omaha. We r retired military so we get all of our check and carry on luggage free. Plus we can get on board right away..
    I have a Allegiant Mastercard so I get a free drink every flight.
    Love Allegiant Airs.

    • June 2, 2022

      Thank you for your service! And I did not know about those perks, so appreciate you sharing, Nancy.

  • April 27, 2022
    Michael

    I will never fly Allegiant again. They have cancelled flights on us twice within two months AFTER we had already checked in. The second cancellation cost us an additional $1,000 as we had to rent a car and scramble to catch a flight the same day and rent another car as the airline could only offer to take us to a city about 2 hours drive away from where we would have flown to with Allegiant. I’ve registered a complaint with Allegiant but not even had the courtesy of a reply. Never again! What should have been a $100 flight ended costing us ten times more. It’s not worth it as they are unreliable.

    • May 16, 2022

      Oh man, that sucks, Michael! It’s definitely a gamble flying some of these routes that only have one to two directs a week and I’ve thought about that and considered my back-up plan should a cancellation occur. Were you able to use insurance? Our credit card (Chase) often reimburses for disruptions like these.

  • April 30, 2022
    Gigi

    I had never flown before and it recently had no choice to get home and then experience was amazing even though it was a little cramped I was very pleased with the airline it was also cheaper and faster then grayhound

    • May 16, 2022

      Definitely a little cramped, but honestly every airline is these days. I paid a little extra to be able to book an exit row for the added legroom.

  • May 4, 2022
    Lisa C

    I just took a trip to TN on Allegiant with my 83 & 86 year old parents.
    Our original flight was booked in September of 2021 but due to Covid issues I had to cancel and rebook.
    And there was the issue, cancelling and receiving vouchers online they where charging me $75 a person penalty. So I tried calling them directly, a nightmare of a task.
    Finally at 3AM one morning I got through to a rep. He turned the entire dollar value of the tickets into a voucher, without any penalty.
    As for the flights, excellent, but given any issues where you need to speak to them, forget it!

    • May 16, 2022

      I can see that for sure. They seem to not have much staffing at all at the airports, and luckily so far I haven’t had to call or reach them for anything. Glad you eventually got through!

  • May 11, 2022
    Debbie

    I just returned from my first trip on Allegiant (Omaha NE to L.A. Absolutely perfect flight. Wonderful service
    I agree with the positive reviews and will definitely fly Allegiant again

  • May 13, 2022
    Terry

    Yes I agree with your review I like Allegiant because they are direct flights you don’t have to go through major hubs.

    • May 19, 2022

      We always fly direct if at all possible! The possibility of delays when you throw in a connection is just too large.

  • May 13, 2022
    Janice

    Yes I love flying allegiant.
    Get the credit card!! Lots of perks including $50 off spe ial sometimes.
    Also look for $off codes
    No frills, but great prices to get me where i need to go.
    I heard they are adding new airports this year including one in Mexico:)

    • May 19, 2022

      Good to know, thanks for sharing, Janice!

  • May 15, 2022
    Barb Davis

    Love flying Allegiant.
    2hours 15 minutes I see my family& friends.
    Employees r frienndly& accomadating.
    Love the Allegiant BOA card.Points r helpfully 2 cut the price of tickets but having an issue with points showing up& trying 2 get help by phone or email
    I am confident it will be resolved soon.

    • May 16, 2022

      Yeah, the website definitely leaves a lot to be desired! Hopefully, you’ll get resolution soon. If not, try Twitter? I’ve had better luck getting airlines’ attention (and resolution) through Tweeting them than I have via phone or email in the past.

  • May 15, 2022
    Ed Hoey

    March 18 2022 las Vegas they canceled their flight to Pasco 15min before boarding .told us we would get 300.00dollars and a voucher. Never happened. Can not call busy. Email not getting any help. Attorney general notified?????

  • May 15, 2022
    Barbara Janis

    The seats are too close together and the seats depth is not comfortable. Its the direct flights that keep me coming back. I have a dog and they do not except emotional support animals anymore because of people claiming their pig, peacock, spider or snake is their support animals. Im 69 and have severe anxiety and trained him myself to be my service dog, but they accused me of lying. You do not have to take your dogs to a training facility. A judge ruled against that a few months back. Its hard for seniors to pick up and carry a pet. I stay in maine 4- 5 months a year and people against us thought we were trying to get out of the pet fee. That’s not it at all. Plus they said leave your animals home! People who have allergies still have pets. Allegiant is a great airline other than what I previously said, and i will always fly allegiant.

    • May 16, 2022

      Definitely agree the seats could be more comfortable. Then again, when I fly other major airlines, it’s not much different unless I pay to upgrade to economy plus.

      As an animal lover, I definitely agree that this country treats our pets horribly. I don’t have human children, so my dog is like my kid, and I wish it weren’t so difficult (and pricey!) to fly with her. We took her to California last year, and her “seat” (under the seat back in front of me) cost more than my round-trip ticket.

  • May 19, 2022
    Lyn mckeighan

    I have been flying Allegiant for 5 years ALB to PIE & have not had any complaints with the flights. Works for me. Until this past week when I flew in my granddaughter from PIE to ALB & bundled auto rental with her flight. She arrived & did not want to reserve a car so I began my futile attempt to cancel the car rental. What a nightmare! I am out $361 & still has not resolved. I did not pick up the car & have been advised that it is what it is. I spent four hours speaking with various CS agents at 10 different numbers with no resolution. So frustrating! I will never bundle with Allegiant again. I couldn’t even go to the car rental company to cancel! I am so angry that a special time was impacted by this.

    • May 19, 2022

      Totally agree! That’s a nightmare of third-party companies to work with, and I hate that Allegiant tries to push the car rental and hotel on you. I always rent Enterprise directly from them for the cars and have never had issues, and when I book Allegiant, I book the top tier of seat (that bundles seat selection and luggage) and that’s it. It’s definitely a chess game, flying in this day and age!

  • May 20, 2022
    Carla Duncan

    We love Allegiant! Cheap fares, never pay for a seat and usually get to sit next to spouse. Have Allegiant credit card so get free beverage and priority boarding plus points for using card so always have $$ off already cheap fare. Also $20 off coupon always on Facebook so book one way flights each way and you save $40 which is the carry on fee. We just had a flight cancelled. Received fare refund, $200 cash and $150 credit for future flights on a $33 flight!

    • June 2, 2022

      Wow, that’s great to know. I didn’t know about the Facebook coupons!

  • May 20, 2022
    Linda

    Been flying Allegiant for 12 years. Have never had a bad flight with them. Always on time, easy airport to get in and out of, planes always clean, and flight attendants very nice and professional. Recommend them highly.

  • May 23, 2022
    Pam

    Yes I absolutely agree that flying Alligiant is exactly as described. I would not hesitate to book on this airline and I always purchase the bundle. The emergency exit seating is worth it alone. Go for it!

    • June 2, 2022

      YES. That extra legroom is everything!

  • May 23, 2022
    Paul

    Ive been a customer since 2007, when flight plans are basic they are good. If you have a problem and need to speak to someone, good luck! We’ve been trying for months, delayed travel plans, phones are chocked in early morning to over 2 hour wait, emails are ignored, FB and instagram messages are ignored. Still trying to get someone to acknowledge us.

    • June 2, 2022

      Yeah, that sounds like most airlines unfortunately. I’ve found that Twitter is usually your best option for recourse!

  • May 23, 2022
    Heidi

    I just returned from Cancun on an Allegiant flight. The plane was overweight so they left all of the checked baggage in cancun. That was Saturday..it is now Monday and I have no clue where my baggage is or when I will get it. They haven’t answered any calls or emails. When we landed the desk at the airport was closed. I am beyond frustrated with them

    • June 2, 2022

      That sadly doesn’t surprise me, as I’ve found many smaller airlines don’t have desk representation. Hopefully, you get it resolved! Sorry you’ve had to deal with that. Flying in this day and age is difficult no matter the circumstances.

  • May 26, 2022
    Lorena R Brullo

    I just recently flew to Santa Maria California on allegiant and as usual the flight was late. I got to the airport at 6:00 pm for my flight leaving at 8:20 pm and ended up leaving at 9:45 pm. On the way home I decided to get to the airport a half hour before knowing that it is a small airport. When I got there, there was no one in the allegiant desks so I went directly to the boarding podium and stood in line with a out 9 people in front of him. Well although I had paid for a carry on bag and a check-in bag plus priority seating they charged me an additional $50.oo dollars for the check-in bag although I had already paid for it. Well if they can charge me for being late then I should be able to do the same. They are always late.

    • June 2, 2022

      I’m sorry to hear that, Lorena! Our recent flight with them was delayed, but given it was an ice storm, it was understandable. I was shocked we got out at all, let alone just 90 minutes behind schedule.

      Small airports are tricky. I flew out of Albany on a major airline a few years ago, and when I got there at 7pm for a 9pm flight, I found out TSA was completely closed! So I couldn’t board my flight and had to come back the next day. It was insane (the airport’s fault, not the airline though I would have appreciated a head’s up).

  • May 30, 2022
    Vicky

    Ny husband and I were trying to get home from Houston to Desmoines when 1 hour before our flight was to leave they cancelled our flight No bad weather no reason giving No staff there to answer questions the website said they may get us home in a week. My husband may never fly again thanks to you

    • June 2, 2022

      I hope you send your complaints on to the airline! I’m but a blogger so unfortunately can’t help you with that 🙁

  • May 31, 2022
    John Gann

    Stewart Airport in NY to South West Florida flights are great. Ger the BOA card for all the perks. I can also fly out of Albany, NY if current schedule does not work. Thank you Allegiant!

    • June 2, 2022

      We’re flying to Albany in August! We were thisclose to flying out of Nashville direct on Allegiant until we realized United had a flight with better times, so we booked it instead. Can’t wait!

  • June 2, 2022
    Don Benson

    I hate all those extra fees. That makes their low fares a big lie. But they fly to places Southwest doesn’t, so we got stuck. Wouldn’t choose to fly Allegiant unless I had to.

    • June 2, 2022

      Absolutely agree with you, Don. But I feel like other than Southwest (my normal go-to), you can’t avoid fees these days. We flew two round-trips on United and American over the past six months, and I booked the lowest possible fare, which left us without seat assignments or basically anything, which was a bummer given how much I spent. So, again, I feel Southwest is the only airline who doesn’t completely nickel and dime you, though of course many hate the cattle call process (I generally don’t mind it much).

  • June 6, 2022
    Rob

    100% agree. Allegiant is better than most. Faster access through smaller airports and best prices most of the time, especially when planning ahead. Only issues I’ve had are some delays but have been flying with them for years.

    • June 17, 2022

      The pro of smaller airports: fewer headaches in general flying in/out; often, the airlines will go to more extremes to make sure those flights happen in the instance of delays as there are fewer options.

      The con of smaller airports: less flight routes to hop on if something does go wrong with your original flight!

  • June 12, 2022
    Lisa

    I agree with this review. We fly with Allegiant yearly as their LAX – Fargo route is exactly what we need. We have had just one really annoying experience over the years in which the flight from Fargo was delayed by 6 or so hours due only to bad weather. I was pleasantly surprised this year when I booked my flight (within the last week) as the prices were not out of line from what I’ve paid in prior years, and some of the add on fees have actually gone down. My only recommendation would be for LAX leg to change to Burbank – now that would be a dream come true!

    • June 17, 2022

      I’ve only flown into Burbank once, but wow, what a nice experience that is after dealing with the headache of LAX. Also, Fargo is such a cool town!

  • June 16, 2022
    Jerry

    If you have to be someplace at defined time this is not your airline, many flights don’t happened as scheduled but if you are looking for cheap flight and have flexibility than this is surely a option but like many will tell you don’t try to call them unless you don’t mind sitting on hold for hours at a time. My first time flying allegiant air was a nightmare on the outbound flight from Las Vegas to Destin Florida flight was cancelled with no other options to connect to Florida had to book on another airline last second you can imagine what that cost!!!. And spent over 5 hours on hold. The return flight no issues. So if you not in a hurry go ahead and use allegiant but if you have to be someplace at a certain time don’t fly alligent.

    • June 17, 2022

      You’ve raised great points that are also echoed by other commenters on this thread—the danger of flying with a company with limited airlift is that if anything happens to your original flight, you’re often SOL. I haven’t had that happen with Allegiant yet luckily, but I definitely factor things like flight route frequency into any travel plans when timeliness is an absolute.

    • June 17, 2022

      Then again, I have several people who have been flying into Nashville (a major airport) this last week via Delta, and there have been many, many cancellations (with little resolution), so I also think that’s sadly the nature of travel these days.

  • June 19, 2022
    Deborah wysocki

    If your a backpacker, it’s cheap. I literally carry my backpack as my free item and pack smart. I can pack 7 days in a single backpack, use clear baggies for toiletries so they can see through. And that simple. Only and one and only complaint is cabin pressure taking late night flights

    • July 19, 2022

      Yes, we don’t check bags, so I agree: It’s more ideal for those who travel light.

  • June 29, 2022
    Rhonda Wood

    I made an online reservation in May 2022 from Dayton Ohio to Orlando Florida Leaving July 24th returning July 28th. Lost everything on my phone including my flight confirmation Can’t use website to find by email address or credit card number. Server error each try. Chat is always offline. Was on hold for customer service for three and a half hours. Finally got a lady and after we said hello the call was disconnected. Went to Dayton airport. Nobody from Allegiant there. Was told they only come in two hours before a flight. The airport can only give you scheduled flight times on a wily basis. It should not be this difficult to get help. Going to the Airport again once I can find out when a flight is scheduled.

    • July 19, 2022

      I agree, it should not be this difficult to get help anywhere for anything you’ve purchased. And yet, traveling this summer is bananas. Hope you got it resolved in the end, Rhonda.

  • July 1, 2022
    Jill Still

    I’ve flown allegiant several times, Ive never had a bad experience. I even get air sick and the flight itself hasn’t been a bad experience,even with turbulence!!

  • July 3, 2022
    Marge

    Safety is the issue! Look up 60 Minutes stiries about Allegiant! And book elsewhere.

  • July 8, 2022
    Patricia Mitchell

    Thank u for the feedback about this airline because I was scared to fly with them…

  • July 11, 2022
    Cassie

    Yes. Your assessment is spot on. Without reading other posts I apologize if this has been mentioned, but Allegiant, by far has the best military appreciation perks. 2 free checked bags preferred boarding and 1 free carryon for each person in your party. So, if you are active or a veteran, make sure you do not prepay for luggage.

    • July 19, 2022

      Yes! I didn’t know that until the comments I received on this post, but my husband is a veteran, so it’s great to know for the future. Thanks for chiming in, Cassie!

  • July 19, 2022
    Shannon

    I wouldn’t know what it’s like to fly with Allegiant. Our flight was delayed by 4 hrs, then canceled!! We didn’t get a chance to go to Nashville. What I do know, is I will never fly with them again. This is total BS

    • July 19, 2022

      Woof. I’m sorry to hear that, though it seems to be a common occurrence this summer no matter the airline =/

      I hope you got sufficiently compensated. Here’s a guide to going for your refund/money if you need it: https://www.nytimes.com/article/flights-cancelled-delayed.html

      • July 23, 2022
        Tiffany

        I have booked 2 flights through Allegiant in 2022. They have canceled both our flights (January and July) less than 3 hours prior to take off. They won’t respond to emails and never answer their phone. 6 hours on the phone waiting overnight and finally talked to someone. I will pay more with another airline going forward. My time is money too.

        • July 26, 2022

          There’s nothing worse than bad customer service and not being able to talk to an actual human! So sorry you had that experience.

  • July 26, 2022

    I had reservations booked for a 430 flight. Got to the airport at 3, found out Alligiant changed the flight time with no notice. I have emailed 4x, and tried calling countless times for a refund. No luck….at all. They can keep their cheap flights. Their customer service is the worst imaginable. 😡😰

  • July 26, 2022

    I had reservations booked for a 430 flight. Got to the airport at 3, found out Alligiant changed the flight time with no notice. I have emailed 4x, and tried calling countless times for a refund. No luck….at all. They can keep their cheap flights. Their customer service is the worst imaginable. 😡😰

  • July 26, 2022
    EMH

    Have flown Allegiant many times with no hiccups until recently when they canceled a flight and couldn’t offer another until seven days later because they don’t partner with any other airline. They did offer a voucher, but it did not offset the cost of finding another airline.

  • July 27, 2022

    I have flown with Allegiant for many years. I also use the Allegiant master card which gives me credit for airline miles. In all the years flying I have never had a single problem with them. Airline staff have been great, pilots polite and an all around comfortable flight. It does run into a little to much money paying for everything separately. I hope they don’t decide to increase that charge. I will continue to always us Allegiant.

  • August 7, 2022
    Jon Hulett

    I agree with your assessment, but their crap early fight times in small airports are a problem. Bigger still, is them unbundling flex trip assurance and raising the price, a major douchebag move considering the amount of revenue or they’re making on the checked baggage portion of this package when only half the people use them.

Leave a Comment

GET MY POSTS DELIVERED DIRECTLY TO YOUR INBOX
+ Sign up and receive your free copy of my eBook