Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

Should I Fly Allegiant? An Honest Airline Review

[shareaholic app=”share_buttons” id=”20872686″]

Last month, Mom and I flew a direct flight from Nashville to Palm Springs, a new route that sprung up on Allegiant Airlines in the last year. Around the time we booked, I noticed a lot of chatter online with people seeing similar deals and trying to figure out: should I fly Allegiant Air? I’m breaking down our honest experience with Allegiant.

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

First off, let’s just say that the in-flight experience of most domestic airlines these days is the same. In the past six months, I’ve flown United, Delta, Southwest and Allegiant on anywhere from one- to four-hour U.S. flights, and as I fly the cheapest fare in economy possible, there’s not really a discernible difference between any of them. If that’s also your reality, I recommend you book the flight that a) offers you the best price and b) the best flight path (ideally, direct, but if not a short layover in an airport that isn’t LAX or JFK).

GET MY POSTS DELIVERED DIRECTLY TO YOUR INBOX

 

This was my second time flying Allegiant; the first was a round-trip to Hilton Head/Savannah, a seasonal route that is not currently offered. On both trips—or four flight legs—I had the same perfectly seamless experience. Most Allegiant routes like this are only offered once or twice a week and to secondary airports, which is why the fees are so cheap, so you have to be flexible. For Palm Springs, we could only fly direct on Saturday and Wednesday, so we planned our trip accordingly.

Should I Fly Allegiant Air? An Airline Review

What does an Allegiant Air flight cost?

The reason people fly Allegiant Air is because it’s cheap. For the purpose of this post, I did a quick flight search from Nashville to Fargo—not a large airport—for a couple weeks out, and rates start at $38 each way.

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

Sounds dreamy, right? Only, when you go to the next screen, you’ll notice that everything from seat selection to a carry on is an upcharge:

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

Still, even if you select the highest fare in this case, it works out to just $170 more and a total of $291 a person round-trip, which is about as affordable a flight as you’re going to find to Fargo. What you need to know, though, is the initial price you see in the booking engine or on Google Flights is for the bare-bone experience so you’re likely going to want to upgrade your fare.

What class of fare should I book on Allegiant?

I highly recommend doing the Allegiant bundle where everything is included. In all, we paid $377 a person for a round-trip ticket from Nashville to Palm Springs direct. It wasn’t that more expensive for us to go this route than the basic fare, and we were able to pre-select our seats and get an exit row, which was dreamy. And we had an empty seat between us.

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

And even though we didn’t check bags, it was nice knowing there would be no fee surprises (like for our carry-on bags) since we had paid for all of that upfront.

One of my few rubs with Allegiant is the booking process. Because it’s a low-cost carrier, they try to upsell you on everything: hotels, rental cars, vacation packages. You have to bypass all these screens before you get to the actual payment portal.

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

What to expect from the Allegiant planes

Allegiant Air’s fleet of planes are all older Airbus A319s and A320s, very basic and no-frills. That means a three-seat configuration on each side of the aisle and only one class of service, economy. The airline recently announced the purchase of 737-7 and 737-8-200 aircraft, which will be implemented over the next few years. We booked exit row seats in our bundle, which gave us plenty of legroom.

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

Allegiant’s in-flight service

Most of the domestic flights I’ve been on lately have not had in-flight service other than complimentary water, coffee/tea and sodas, and Allegiant’s in-flight service was similar. They do sell beer, wine and spirits, in addition to meals and snack packs, for the same prices as the other airlines, but I didn’t purchase anything on my flights.

I also found the flight attendants very friendly and helpful. Allegiant may be a “budget airline,” but the customer service element was far superior than what I’ve found flying low-cost carriers in Europe like, say, Ryanair or easyJet.

Allegiant’s baggage policy

Here’s where airlines like Allegiant and Frontier really get you: with the added fees. As I already noted, if you book the bundle, you won’t have to worry about this. But if you book the cheapest seat possible, you’ll have to pay for not only your checked baggage, but also your carry-on. Your personal item (purse, laptop bag, etc.) is free.

Baggage policy for Allegiant Air

If you’re looking for a no-baggage-fee airline, Southwest is pretty much your only option. We fly Southwest a lot—mostly for free, thanks to having their reward credit card—and though we rarely check bags, that policy comes in handy when we’re heading to cold-weather destinations like Colorado with our ski gear.

The downsides of Allegiant Airlines

There are no perks on Allegiant like WiFi or in-flight entertainment, so you’ll need to bring your own. I often get a lot of work done on flights, but honestly not having WiFi is usually a blessing for me because then I have no excuse to work and can unplug and actually read for the duration of the flight.

So … should I fly Allegiant?

If you’re like me and value price over frills, then you should fly Allegiant. If it’s going to annoy you that everything is an up-charge and there are no classes in the airplane, this probably is not the airline for you.

Personally, I would fly Allegiant again. It was a perfectly comfortable, seamless experience, and I think if you buy a ticket with everything included—seat selection, carryon, checked bag if you’re bringing one—then there won’t be any surprises and you won’t be disappointed.

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?

Have you flown Allegiant Air before? Would you agree with my assessment of what it’s like to fly Allegiant?


 

PIN IT! SAVE THIS POST FOR LATER

Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?
Allegiant Airlines Review: Should I Fly Allegiant Air?
COMMENTS
  • April 11, 2022
    Karolyn

    I agree with your review. I like Allegiant for direct flights to fun destinations!

    • May 16, 2022

      It would be fun to play destination roulette with all the direct routes on Allegiant and just go on an adventure to wherever is cheapest!

    • May 21, 2022
      Jerry Blaisdell

      If you need to speak to someone at Allegiant forget it. I waited on the phone line for 3 hours after trying to address my problem on line completely failed. They had absolutely no one in their call center on a Friday. Unimaginable.

  • April 11, 2022
    Emily

    I agree, my family uses them and they haven’t had issues. You just have to know what you are getting and take that into consideration. They fly out of smaller cities, which is nice if you live in one of those. Their flights never seem to work for me, but I would use them if they did.

    • April 19, 2022

      Exactly! The lack of availability is definitely an issue if you don’t have flexibility but also why they can offer flights so cheap.

  • April 15, 2022
    AH

    I learned recently that if you do live in a city with an Allegiant airport and it’s not too much of a hassle to stop in at the airport to purchase your ticket you can save a lot of money!

    • April 19, 2022

      Someone else just told me that, too, and it absolutely blew my mind!

  • April 17, 2022
    Pamela

    I have been trying to get a flight for me and my grandson for August to Toledo Ohio and there is no flight for August,does anyone know why

    • April 19, 2022

      I’d use Google Flights to see all your options across airlines. That’s always where I start any flight search.

  • April 19, 2022
    Diana Spangler

    I had 7 delays on April th. Was told I would receive a voucher for hot3l. Still waiting for it and the customer service number has been busy regardless what time I call. Horrible experience. Promised voucher for food (airpoet only) and the next morning no one at the fate knew anything about it!!! So I am out $350.00 for hotel and transportation.

    • April 19, 2022

      Diana, I hate to hear this! It’s definitely happened to be before on various airlines. I’d say keep fighting, check the airline’s contract of carriage and reach out via Twitter (how I often resolve flight issues) if that doesn’t work.

      https://www.allegiantair.com/contract-carriage

    • May 11, 2022
      April

      I was stranded with my minor grandkids in Tulsa, OK because I, as well as the ticket counter rep, could not check us in and issue boarding passes! I was told that the manager would come refund my tickets but no one ever returned to the counter. I’m still fighting for my money. Additionally, because they only fly once or twice a week you cannot “catch the next flight out” without waiting a few days costing hundreds of dollars more in hotels and food. Ultimately, I had to purchase with another carrier so I could get home the next day because I was out of my meds! This was the worse experience ever. You get what you pay for and if you like throwing away a lot of money this is the flight for you!!

      • May 16, 2022

        I’m sorry you had that experience, April! That sounds like every time I’ve flown Ryanair in Europe. I haven’t had that experience on Allegiant so far, but definitely can sympathize with sub-par flying experiences as I’ve had many.

  • April 19, 2022
    Quentin Bruce Watnem

    We had a seamless flight from DSM to SRQ no problem we definitely will use them again very reasonable rates and no problems, very friendly staff

  • April 21, 2022
    Cheryl Lee

    I like Allegiant and have been flying them most of the time since I moved to Florida almost 5 years ago. I am a veteran and especially like their Military Honors program: Up to 2 free checked bags (100# max each!!), free carryon, early boarding, one free pet and other great perks.

    • May 16, 2022

      Thank you for your service, Cheryl! My husband is also a veteran and I didn’t know they offered that perk, but we’ll definitely take advantage of it in the past. Appreciate you sharing!

  • April 22, 2022

    I always fly Allegiant from Mesa to Omaha. We r retired military so we get all of our check and carry on luggage free. Plus we can get on board right away..
    I have a Allegiant Mastercard so I get a free drink every flight.
    Love Allegiant Airs.

  • April 27, 2022
    Michael

    I will never fly Allegiant again. They have cancelled flights on us twice within two months AFTER we had already checked in. The second cancellation cost us an additional $1,000 as we had to rent a car and scramble to catch a flight the same day and rent another car as the airline could only offer to take us to a city about 2 hours drive away from where we would have flown to with Allegiant. I’ve registered a complaint with Allegiant but not even had the courtesy of a reply. Never again! What should have been a $100 flight ended costing us ten times more. It’s not worth it as they are unreliable.

    • May 16, 2022

      Oh man, that sucks, Michael! It’s definitely a gamble flying some of these routes that only have one to two directs a week and I’ve thought about that and considered my back-up plan should a cancellation occur. Were you able to use insurance? Our credit card (Chase) often reimburses for disruptions like these.

  • April 30, 2022
    Gigi

    I had never flown before and it recently had no choice to get home and then experience was amazing even though it was a little cramped I was very pleased with the airline it was also cheaper and faster then grayhound

    • May 16, 2022

      Definitely a little cramped, but honestly every airline is these days. I paid a little extra to be able to book an exit row for the added legroom.

  • May 4, 2022
    Lisa C

    I just took a trip to TN on Allegiant with my 83 & 86 year old parents.
    Our original flight was booked in September of 2021 but due to Covid issues I had to cancel and rebook.
    And there was the issue, cancelling and receiving vouchers online they where charging me $75 a person penalty. So I tried calling them directly, a nightmare of a task.
    Finally at 3AM one morning I got through to a rep. He turned the entire dollar value of the tickets into a voucher, without any penalty.
    As for the flights, excellent, but given any issues where you need to speak to them, forget it!

    • May 16, 2022

      I can see that for sure. They seem to not have much staffing at all at the airports, and luckily so far I haven’t had to call or reach them for anything. Glad you eventually got through!

  • May 11, 2022
    Debbie

    I just returned from my first trip on Allegiant (Omaha NE to L.A. Absolutely perfect flight. Wonderful service
    I agree with the positive reviews and will definitely fly Allegiant again

  • May 13, 2022
    Terry

    Yes I agree with your review I like Allegiant because they are direct flights you don’t have to go through major hubs.

    • May 19, 2022

      We always fly direct if at all possible! The possibility of delays when you throw in a connection is just too large.

  • May 13, 2022
    Janice

    Yes I love flying allegiant.
    Get the credit card!! Lots of perks including $50 off spe ial sometimes.
    Also look for $off codes
    No frills, but great prices to get me where i need to go.
    I heard they are adding new airports this year including one in Mexico:)

    • May 19, 2022

      Good to know, thanks for sharing, Janice!

  • May 15, 2022
    Barb Davis

    Love flying Allegiant.
    2hours 15 minutes I see my family& friends.
    Employees r frienndly& accomadating.
    Love the Allegiant BOA card.Points r helpfully 2 cut the price of tickets but having an issue with points showing up& trying 2 get help by phone or email
    I am confident it will be resolved soon.

    • May 16, 2022

      Yeah, the website definitely leaves a lot to be desired! Hopefully, you’ll get resolution soon. If not, try Twitter? I’ve had better luck getting airlines’ attention (and resolution) through Tweeting them than I have via phone or email in the past.

  • May 15, 2022
    Ed Hoey

    March 18 2022 las Vegas they canceled their flight to Pasco 15min before boarding .told us we would get 300.00dollars and a voucher. Never happened. Can not call busy. Email not getting any help. Attorney general notified?????

  • May 15, 2022
    Barbara Janis

    The seats are too close together and the seats depth is not comfortable. Its the direct flights that keep me coming back. I have a dog and they do not except emotional support animals anymore because of people claiming their pig, peacock, spider or snake is their support animals. Im 69 and have severe anxiety and trained him myself to be my service dog, but they accused me of lying. You do not have to take your dogs to a training facility. A judge ruled against that a few months back. Its hard for seniors to pick up and carry a pet. I stay in maine 4- 5 months a year and people against us thought we were trying to get out of the pet fee. That’s not it at all. Plus they said leave your animals home! People who have allergies still have pets. Allegiant is a great airline other than what I previously said, and i will always fly allegiant.

    • May 16, 2022

      Definitely agree the seats could be more comfortable. Then again, when I fly other major airlines, it’s not much different unless I pay to upgrade to economy plus.

      As an animal lover, I definitely agree that this country treats our pets horribly. I don’t have human children, so my dog is like my kid, and I wish it weren’t so difficult (and pricey!) to fly with her. We took her to California last year, and her “seat” (under the seat back in front of me) cost more than my round-trip ticket.

  • May 19, 2022
    Lyn mckeighan

    I have been flying Allegiant for 5 years ALB to PIE & have not had any complaints with the flights. Works for me. Until this past week when I flew in my granddaughter from PIE to ALB & bundled auto rental with her flight. She arrived & did not want to reserve a car so I began my futile attempt to cancel the car rental. What a nightmare! I am out $361 & still has not resolved. I did not pick up the car & have been advised that it is what it is. I spent four hours speaking with various CS agents at 10 different numbers with no resolution. So frustrating! I will never bundle with Allegiant again. I couldn’t even go to the car rental company to cancel! I am so angry that a special time was impacted by this.

    • May 19, 2022

      Totally agree! That’s a nightmare of third-party companies to work with, and I hate that Allegiant tries to push the car rental and hotel on you. I always rent Enterprise directly from them for the cars and have never had issues, and when I book Allegiant, I book the top tier of seat (that bundles seat selection and luggage) and that’s it. It’s definitely a chess game, flying in this day and age!

  • May 20, 2022
    Carla Duncan

    We love Allegiant! Cheap fares, never pay for a seat and usually get to sit next to spouse. Have Allegiant credit card so get free beverage and priority boarding plus points for using card so always have $$ off already cheap fare. Also $20 off coupon always on Facebook so book one way flights each way and you save $40 which is the carry on fee. We just had a flight cancelled. Received fare refund, $200 cash and $150 credit for future flights on a $33 flight!

  • May 20, 2022
    Linda

    Been flying Allegiant for 12 years. Have never had a bad flight with them. Always on time, easy airport to get in and out of, planes always clean, and flight attendants very nice and professional. Recommend them highly.

  • May 23, 2022
    Pam

    Yes I absolutely agree that flying Alligiant is exactly as described. I would not hesitate to book on this airline and I always purchase the bundle. The emergency exit seating is worth it alone. Go for it!

  • May 23, 2022
    Paul

    Ive been a customer since 2007, when flight plans are basic they are good. If you have a problem and need to speak to someone, good luck! We’ve been trying for months, delayed travel plans, phones are chocked in early morning to over 2 hour wait, emails are ignored, FB and instagram messages are ignored. Still trying to get someone to acknowledge us.

  • May 23, 2022
    Heidi

    I just returned from Cancun on an Allegiant flight. The plane was overweight so they left all of the checked baggage in cancun. That was Saturday..it is now Monday and I have no clue where my baggage is or when I will get it. They haven’t answered any calls or emails. When we landed the desk at the airport was closed. I am beyond frustrated with them

Leave a Comment

GET MY POSTS DELIVERED DIRECTLY TO YOUR INBOX
+ Sign up and receive your free copy of my eBook